NLC Issues Swim, Wrestling All-NLCs

NLC-logoThe Northern Lakes Conference issued its official lists for the 2012-13 All-Northern Lakes Conference teams for boys and girls swimming as well as wrestling. Girls and boys basketball will be released in the coming weeks. Gymnastics does not field a full compliment of Northern Lakes Conference teams, thus, no postseason conference awards.

Girls Swimming

Northridge put together yet another undefeated season at 7-0 in the round robin and rolled to its 12th consecutive NLC title with a convincing win at the NLC tournament in its own pool. The Lady Raiders boasted of six All-NLC performers, which were matched by the six from runner-up Concord, who also saluted coach Tom Johnson as Coach of the Year.

Wawasee, which had NLC champions in Bre Robinson in the 100 free and Kayla Hershberger in the 500 free, had four total All-NLC swimmers with the two champs joined by Kendra Miller on the first team and Betsy Rozow Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Warsaw had three named to the list, with Ashley Van Wormer All-NLC while teammates Cynthia Juarez and Margot Rheinhardt listed as Honorable Mention All-NLC.

Boys Swimming

Northridge made no bones of its dominance in the conference, winning its 15th straight NLC tournament title with Warsaw a distant second. The Raiders, which haven’t lost in the conference in over a decade, had 10 named to the All-NLC list, nine of which are on the first team.

Warsaw, whose only loss was to Northridge, placed breaststroke champion Spencer Davidson on the first team along with Jayden Parrett and Dean Katris. Zach Taylor was named Honorable Mention All-NLC. Head coach Nate Long was named Coach of the Year in just his second season.

Wawasee had a pair of champions in Zac Hershberger in the 100 and Sebastian List tie Seth Cripe in the 200 free, both earning All-NLC honors along with Logan Brugh. Luke Smith was named Honorable Mention All-NLC.


Plymouth’s undefeated round robin was justly rewarded in the All-NLC nods as the Pilgrims took five spots. Elkhart Memorial had a say in the NLC championship, winning the tournament to split the title with Plymouth thus preserving its streak of NLC titles, now up to 12.

Memorial led the list of All-NLC wrestlers with six, with Goshen and Wawasee taking four each. The Warriors were led by All-NLC performers Chad Eppley, Brian Clark and Nick Rozow, of which Rozow was the champion in the 160-pound bracket. Doug Corl would garner Honorable Mention All-NLC honors for the Warriors.

Warsaw had a pair of wrestlers take Honorable Mention All-NLC nods in Luis Munoz and Luis Cervantes.



Stacey Page Online Feed Facebook: social networking Twitter Linked in: Professional contact information Google+: Real-life sharing rethought for the web Print Friendly and PDF

Comments are closed.